Hall of Fame inducts seven

The SUNY Oswego Alumni Association inducted six former stars and one booster to the Oswego State Athletic Hall of Fame last fall, celebrating their dedication to sports and community.

Michael Snell ’87, the former men’s ice hockey team captain, established the mark for the most goals in a single season. He ranks third on the men’s ice hockey all-time scoring list with 263 points and played two years of professional hockey in Germany.

Barry Dillon ’85 was one of the college’s all-time great baseball pitchers, holding the record for career wins with 37.

Former Oswego State women’s basketball player Eileen Sommers ’83, the single-season scoring record holder with 264 points, was the first SUNY Oswego woman to score 1,000 points.

Hall of Fame class of 2010

The 10th Oswego State Athletic Hall of Fame class included, back row, from left: James Hauptfleisch ’77, Barry Dillon ’85, Michael Snell ’87 and Dick Johnson. Pictured front row, from left, are: Charles Wiltse ’63, M ’69; Robert Zabronsky ’82; and Eileen Sommers ’83.

Former Laker soccer player Robert Zabronsky ’82 made the All-SUNY Athletic Conference first team each year he played. As a member of the Maccabiah team, he has represented the United States in Mexico, Venezuela, Chile, Israel and Germany.

James Hauptfleisch ’77 was the SUNYAC individual wrestling champion in 1975 as well as state heavyweight champ in 1975 and 1977, the same year he was named an All-American.

Charles Wiltse ’63, M ’69 was recognized for his accomplishments in and commitment to cross country and track. He served as coach for cross country and track in the Baldwinsville Central School District from 1963 to 1984.

Dick Johnson was the first inductee ever who did not play sports for the college. He was recognized for his role in co-founding the Blue Line Club, whose members ardently support the Oswego men’s ice hockey team while fostering college and community
spirit. He was also the Blue Line Club’s first president.

Alma Hildago ’11

Leave a Reply