Four Named to OAA Board of Directors


New OAA Board of Directors (from left): Phillip Grome M’89, Molly Matott ’15, Jennifer Warner Janes ’91 and Thaina Gonzalez ’92

During the November meeting of the Oswego Alumni Association Board of Directors, the board welcomed four new members, each serving a three-year term beginning July 1, 2016.

Thaina Gonzalez ’92 is manager of executive offices/board liaison of Sponsors for Educational Opportunity in New York, N.Y. She has been active as a founding Return to Oz volunteer, a New York City regional volunteer and an alumni admissions volunteer. She resides in Bronx, N.Y.

Phillip Grome M’89 is the career and technical education director for the Onondaga-Cortland-Madison Boards of Cooperative Educational Services. He has worked closely with Oswego’s School of Education vocational teacher preparation program. He resides in Camillus, N.Y.

Jennifer Warner Janes ’91 is the director of alumni relations at Wells College. She has been active as reunion giving chair for the Oswego Class of 1991, and has extensive experience in higher education in alumni and development organizations. She resides in Cato, N.Y.

Molly Matott ’15 is a meteorologist for CNY Central in Syracuse, N.Y. As a student, she was a 2015 Chancellor’s Award recipient and was active in several clubs and professional organizations. She resides in Liverpool, N.Y.

In addition to the election of new members, Lisa Marceau Schnorr ’87 was elected to the position of president; Amy Vanderlyke Dygert ’01 and Kathleen Smits Evans ’84 were voted in as first and second vice president, respectively. They will serve in these roles for two years. Past President Keith Chamberlain ’87 remains on the board as a member of the Executive Committee.

Tim Barnhart ’02 and Michael Byrne ’79 became members-at-large after serving the maximum three three-year terms. Wrapping up their terms on the board were Lisa Court ’83 and Josh Miller ’08.

The Oswego Alumni Association Board is a volunteer entity with primary oversight of the association’s funds and business operations; members actively participate in the shaping of OAA policies and strategic decision-making for alumni engagement on behalf of the more than 85,000 alumni of SUNY Oswego.

Leave a Reply