SUNY Chancellor Awards Honor Three Oswego Students

Three SUNY Oswego students active in academics, leadership, community service, campus involvement, arts and career-long achievement received the 2016 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence—the highest student recognition through the statewide university system.

This year’s Oswego honorees for outstanding achievements inside and outside the classroom are:


Juanita Diaz ’16 of Cincinnatus, N.Y., a zoology major with minors in geology and biocultural anthropology, who plans to earn a Ph.D. in zoology or ecology and evolutionary biology and become a professor;


Tyler Pelle ’16 of Sparta, N.J., a dual major in meteorology and applied mathematics, who will attend the University of California, Irvine, as a Ph.D. candidate in the earth system science program to study the modeling of Arctic sea ice and its response to both natural and forced climate change; and


Iain Thompson ’16 of Buffalo, N.Y., a biochemistry major with a pre-health emphasis, who is taking the MCAT and applying to medical school for fall 2017.

Leave a Reply